Who Run the World? Girls. – Beyonce Music Video

This brand new music video was just recently premiered this week.  It is for Beyonce’s song “Run the World”.  This song and music video is all about female empowerment.  The first thing that stands out is all the women in armor, and it seems as though they are set up in a war against the men, who stand on the other side of the room.  Their are several lyrics in the song that stand out and make a statement in particular.  In the first verse she says “make your checks come at they neck, disrespect us no they wont.”  I found this empowering because she’s making a point that we as women will not let men disrespect us.  Another line I liked was “Who will buy it for themselves and get more money later.”  This is making the point that women can get their own jobs and do not need to be dependent on men. Also, she  says “My persuasion can build a nation.”  I really found that line interesting, because if you think about it, women really can be very persuasive.  Another part of the song I liked and found empowering to women was “I’m “repping for the girls who taking over the world/Have me raise a glass for the college grads/Anyone rolling I’ll let you know what time it is/You can’t hold me/I broke my 9 to 5 and copped my check/This goes out to all the women getting it in/Get on your grind/To the other men that respect what I do/Please accept my shine.”  ALSO, “Boy you know you love it/How we’re smart enough to make these millions/Strong enough to bare the children/Then get back to business/See, you better not play me.” Basically, Beyonce is making the point that women can do anything and everything, and men need to respect that.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. David
    May 22, 2011 @ 21:05:16

    My girl first ran into this video a couple days ago and posted it up on facebook. Though we both enjoyed the music and lyrics, we both also agreed the the video seemed to play into the male fantasy a little too much and if it had the sound off, it probably be hard to tell what’s being communicated from the video. to paraphrase what she said, Girls only rule the world if you shake your ass right? Perhaps I’m being too critical but I guess that’s why it’s mainstream. You can only say “girls rule” without actually doing something about it right?

    Reply

    • alanaprizant
      May 22, 2011 @ 21:49:15

      I actually noticed that it does play into the male fantasy (in terms of wardrobe) a bit as well, and should’ve added that to my analysis of the video. Thanks for the input!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

